shopping cart

Safe NMLS License

SAFE / NMLS Licensing Requirements

The SAFE Act of 2008 established requirements for the licensing and registration of all Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs). While MLOs who work for an insured depository or its owned or controlled subsidiary are not required to take the education or exams, all other MLOs need to be licensed by the state, complete the education requirements, and pass the state and national SAFE / NMLS exams.NMLS SAFE Training

What The SAFE Act Does

SAFE requires states to establish minimum rules and standards for the licensing and registration of mortgage loan originators. This allows easy access to a Loan Officer and Mortgage Broker's credentials and allows the public to know what kind of mortgage history these providers have.

Essentially, the SAFE Act requires that state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs) pass a written qualified test with a score of 75% or better, complete at least 20 hours of pre-licensing education courses, and take eight hours of annual continuing education courses.

Find SAFE / NMLS Licensing & SAFE / NMLS Training Courses

The Mortgage Training Center offers both online and in-person NMLS licensing and NMLS training courses. Simply choose your preferred optino from the recommended courses listed below, or you can choose "NMLS" and your resident state from the "Licensing" section of the search box below.

Recommended Training Courses:

Webinars Or Audio Conferences
Online Training Courses
Webinars Or Audio Conferences
Find Seminars, Webinars, And Online Training In Your Area
Earn your License quickly and easily!
Professional Development
Products & Services to help manage and grow your career!
About The National Mortgage Licensing System - NMLS

NMLS stands for National Mortgage Licensing System. The goal of the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System is to improve mortgage industry supervision, heighten communication across states, increase consistency in licensing requirements, and automate processes to the greatest degree possible.

NMLS is a secured, web-based system that will allow state licensees, companies, branches and loan originators, to apply for, amend, update, or renew licenses online. Each licensed company will have a single record in the NMLS, regardless of the number of licenses they hold or the number of states in which they operate.

About The SAFE / NMLS Licensing Exam

After students complete the minimum 20 hours of prelicensing education, they can register for the SAFE Exam. The SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Exam is divided into two sections: the national component and the state-specific component.

The national component of the SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Exam consists of 125 test questions: 115 scored and 10 not scored, with a test time of 190 minutes.

Each state-specific component of the SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Exam consists of 45 to 55 operational questions (scored) with an additional 10 pre-test (not scored)

questions. The exact number of scored test questions for each state exam is listed in the state's test content outline. The exam time is 90 minutes with an additional 30 minutes available for completion of an optional candidate survey and tutorial.

A new component to the SAFE Exam is the Uniform State Test (UST). This portion includes 25 questions, which brings the length of the National Test Component with Uniform State Content to 125 questions. Of these, 115 are scored, and 10 unscored. The UST replaces the state-specific test components for ONLY the states that adopt it.

Mortgage Licensing and Continuing Education Requirements

In order to meet the pre- and post-licensing education requirements, state-licensed Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs) must complete 20 hours of NMLS approved pre-licensing education and eight hours of post-licensing continuing education requirements.
Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter
About Us Privacy Guarantee Affiliate List Your Courses Contact Us My Account 5755 North Point Parkway, Suite 227 | Alpharetta, GA 30022 | 770-410-1219 |
Copyright 2018 | Web Site Development by OTAU